Six Realms of Existence Spread

365 Tarot Spreads: Revealing the Magic in Each Day - Sasha Graham 2014

Six Realms of Existence Spread

On This Day

The key to entering and exiting spiritual realms is to understand that they are actually empty. They exist as products of the human mind; this is why death is instant spiritual liberation. This also teaches us how to live within the constant flow of life and death.

Tibet celebrates a three-day festival today at the Tashilhunpo Monastery, a massive monastery founded by the first Dalai Lama. It is marked with the hanging of a giant thangka, a painting on silk or cloth with embroidery.

Summation of Spread

The Tibetan Book of the Dead is a funerary text describing the levels of consciousness between a soul’s death and next rebirth. This spread is inspired by each realm of consciousness.

The six realms are depicted as segments on the Wheel of Life, corresponding to the Wheel of Fortune card.

Cast Your Cards

Cast your cards and proceed into the Tibetan land of the dead.

1. Realm of Hell (tortures): What tortures me?

2. Realm of Hungry Ghosts (greed): What do I crave?

3. The Animal Realm (dullness): What bores me?

4. The Human Realm (balance): How do I inhabit my body?

5. The Realm of Jealous Gods (jealousy and envy): What do I want that others have?

6. The Realm of the Gods (delight and endless pleasure): What brings me utmost pleasure?